Sudan: Anti-war figures including former prime minister Hamdok charged with crimes that carry the death penalty

On 4 April 2024, the public prosecutor in Al Nohud locality, West Kordofan issued arrest warrants against Mr. Hamid Abdul Ghani Terab and 48 other members of the Coordination of Civil Democratic Forces known as Taqaddum. The Sudanese Coordination of Civil Democratic Forces (Taqaddum) is a pro-civilian-power coalition in Sudan that has been involved in peace negotiations in Sudan since October 2023. Since its formation, Taqaddum led by former Prime Minister Abdallah Hamdok has been working to peacefully end the conflict between the warring parties in Sudan. In January 2024, Taqaddum met with the Rapid Support Forces' High command, General Hamdan Dagalo in Addis Ababa and signed a declaration of principles, calling for an end to hostilities and direct negotiations with the military.

In the Ghebesh locality, the Central Reserve Police filed a criminal case vide case no. 1120/2024 against a group of Taqaddum leaders and members, figures from the Arab Socialist Baath Party, and media personalities linked to the Rapid Support Forces. The group is charged with offenses such as war crimes, inciting war against the state, incitement of violence, undermining the constitution, and crimes against humanity among others. Some of these offenses carry the death penalty under the Sudanese criminal law.

The accused are:

- 1- Hamid Abdul Ghani Terab
- 2- Al Fatih Alrehima Nasrallah
- 3- Suleiman Alsadig Ahmed Alamin
- 4- Al Fatih Hamdan Salim
- 5- Emad Aldine Mohamed Ajab
- 6- Al Tahir Berima
- 7- Motaz Ahmed Al Muassal
- 8- Al Sadig Ahmed Alamin
- 9- Mutasim Mohamed Ajab Ahmed
- 10- Mohamed Khamis
- 11- Abdu Mohamed Yagoup
- 12- Abdul-Aziz Ali Abdul Karim
- 13- Alteb Abdul Rahman
- 14- Hamdan Abdul Rahman Karnaka
- 15- Hameeda Ahmed Ajab aka Fanok
- 16- Mohamed Salih Almardi Ajab
- 17- Tarig Mohamed Haroun
- 18- Adil Hussein Alsharif
- 19- Mohamed Ajab Ahmed
- 20- Mohamed Ahmed Alamin aka Alburas
- 21- Abdul Mohamed Alnoor Khalifa aka Abu Rasein
- 22- Ishaq Hameed Mahil
- 23- Devaldeen Mohamed Adam

- 24- Mohamed Obid Allah Abdul Gadir alias Samsung
- 25-Kameel Mohamed Adam alias Ezerg
- 26- Emad alias Edges
- 27- Suleiman Ahmed Hamad Shour (Wad Ghasim)
- 28- Noman Ajab Aldani (Wad Ghasim)
- 29- Mohamed Safi Aldeen (Wad Ghasim)
- 30- Alrashed Mahjub (Wad Ghasim)
- 31-Noman Alnoor Ajab Aldani (Wad Ghasim)
- 32- Al Sari Alhadi Khalifa
- 33-Emad Alhadi Khalifa
- 34- Yousef Makeen Mohamed Salim
- 35- Abu Algasim Mohamed Kheir Karfo
- 36- Abdul-Aziz Mohamed Azrag
- 37- Abdul Khaliq Ibrahim
- 38- Hamid Al Jeghesi
- 39- Al Sawi Jalal Eldien
- 40- Mohamed AL Madani
- 41- Abdul Bagi Ahmed Fad Allah
- 42-Siding Seger
- 43- Abdul Majid Marjab
- 44- Suleiman Sheboon
- 45- Mohamed Osman Al Medoni
- 46- Dawalbet Ansari
- 47- Mohamed Adam Ajab Al Jamri
- 48- Ejlal Joda Suleiman
- 49- Abed Ahmed Dafallah Hassab Syedo

Earlier, on 2 April 2024, the National Committee for War Crimes and Violations filed criminal complaints with the Port Sudan Prosecution Office in the Red Sea state against 17 Taqaddum leaders. The committee was established in August 2023, by the Chairman of the Transitional Sovereign Council, Abdel Fattah al-Burhan with the mandate to investigate war crimes, human rights violations, and other crimes attributed to RSF and other rebel groups since 15 April 2023. The leaders are accused of committing war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, and undermining the constitutional system among other crimes.

Those accused are;

- 1- Abdullah Adam Hamadok, the former Sudanese Prime Minster
- 2- Yasser Saeed Arman, leader of SPLM Revolution Wing.
- 3- Khalid Omer Yousef, the former Sudanese Minster
- 4- Omer Yousef Aldeger, the Chair Person of the Sudanese Congress Party
- 5- Babkir Faisal, a member of the Democratic Unionist Party
- 6- Taha Osman Ishaq, member of the Sudanese Professional Association
- 7- Mohamed Alfaki Suleiman, leader and member of the Democratic Unionist Party

- 8- Suleiman Sandal, leader and Member of the Justice and Equality Movement
- 9- Shogi Abdul Aziem, a journalist
- 10-Maher AbuJokh, leader and member of the Democratic Unionist Party
- 11- Rasha Awad (f), a journalist
- 12- Al Sedig Alsadig Almahdi (f), leader and Member of the National Umma Party
- 13-Zainab Alsadig Almahdi (f), Member of the National Umma Party
- 14- Maryam Alsadig Almahdi(f), Member of the National Umma Party
- 15- Al Watheg Mohamed Ahmed Alberer, Member of the National Umma Party
- 16-Jaffar Hassan, leader and Member of the Democratic Unionist Party.
- 17- Mohamed Hassan Osman, a former member of the Sudanese Transition Sovereign Council

Early this year, the leaders of Taqadum reached out to the Chairman of the Sovereign Council and the Commander-in-Chief of the Sudanese Army, General al-Burhan for a meeting to discuss ways to end the war. These charges, however, slim the chances of dialogue between Tagadum and the country's military leadership which resultantly jeopardizes the chances of ending the war in Sudan.

ACJPS therefore calls upon the Sudanese authorities to desist from using the judiciary as a weapon against political parties and civilian forces. We further urge the warring parties to embrace all peace efforts to bring an end to the war in Sudan.