## **International Seminar**

## **RESPONSE DIVERSITY**

The role of the EU and Civil Society in Strategic Crisis Management in an Era of unprecedented Turbulence at the Planetary Level

Convened as the 16<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Brussels Dialogue on Climate Diplomacy

Date: Friday, 24 November 2023 – 14:00-18:00 CET

Venue: European Economic and Social Committee, Brussels & Online

## **LIST OF EXPECTED PARTICIPANTS**

Mr Luc Bas, Director, Climate and Environment Risk Assessment Center, Belgium Federal Government

Mr Georg Berveniku-Brunner, Austrian Academy of Sciences

**Dr Raul Boeno**, Member, Global Military Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

**Mr Richard Brewin**, Programme Manager, Energy & Environmental Security, Emerging Security Challenges Division, NATO HQ

**Ms Blair Brimmell**, Second Secretary, Climate Change and Security, Global Affairs Canada, Canada's Permanent Delegation to NATO

Ms Margaret Brusasco-Mackenzie, Senior Advisor, Institute for Environmental Security (IES)

**LCol David Burbridge,** Deputy Commander, CF Real Property Operations Group, Canadian Armed Forces

Ms Diana, Burghardt, Project Advisor, European Health and Digital Executive Agency (HaDEA)

Mr Olaf Deussen, Member of Cabinet, Cabinet of EU Commissioner Lenarcic, European Commission

Mr Bienfait Dunia Ombeni, Director, Dunia Bora Foundation

Dr Thomas Elmqvist, Professor, Stockholm University, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Lt Gen (R) Tariq Ghazi, Member, Global Military Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

Mr Sven Hartwig, Public Relations, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Ms Claudia Heilmann, Austrian Academy of Sciences

**Ms Olimpia Imperiali,** Deputy Team Leader of the Situational Awareness Sector, DG ECHO, European Commission

Ms Tzonka lotzova, Head of Unit, External Relations, European Economic and Social Committee

**Ms Frida Jangsten**, Climate section, Department for Multilateral Banks, Sustainability and Climate, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden

Ms Sophie Jouineau, Consultant, ITG

Ms Katarina Kertysova, Climate Security Officer, Emerging Security Challenges Division, NATO

**Dr Marcus King**, Professor, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Mr Ronald A. Kingham, Executive Director, Environment & Development Resource Centre

Ms Ellie Kinney, Campaigner, Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)

Ms Jordan Koop, Policy Officer, Climate Change and Security, NATO

**Dr Georgios Kostakos**, Executive Director, Foundation for Global Governance and Sustainability (FOGGS)

Ms Dimitra Koutouzi, Policy Officer, EUROMIL

Mr Fred Kruidbos, Biologist – ecologist, Ecology, K-SN Ecological Services B.V.

Ms Maarja Kruusmaa, Member, Group of Chief Scientific Advisors to the European Commission

Dr Karolina MacLachlan, Senior Adviser-Policy & Advocacy, Center for Civilians in Conflict

Mr Kim MacLachlan Vetting, Governance Advisor, Civ-Mil liaison (SHAPE J9), NATO - SHAPE

Mr Stefano Mallia, President, Employer's Group, European Economic and Social Committee

Mr Ville Majamaa, Team Leader, European Commission

**Ms Helena Martin Herrero**, Blue Book Traineeship, Cabinet of European Commissioner for Crisis Management, Janez Lenarčič, European Commission

Ms Marie Sophie Mayer, Trainee, JRC, European Commission

Mr Roland-Jan Meijer, Secretary-General, GLOBE EU

Mr Laurence Moffett, Rise for Climate Belgium

**Ms Aurélie Mont-Reynaud**, Second Secretary, Environment and Fisheries Mission of Canada to the

Ms Jeannette Mullaart, Senior Advisor, Environment & Development Resource Centre

**Dr Orlin Nikolov,** Director, Crisis Management and Disaster Response Centre of Excellence (CMDR COE)

Mr Owen Petchey, Professor, University of Zurich (tbc)

Ms Sirpa Pietikäinen, MEP, European Parliament

Dr Octávia Portugal Frota, Senior Advisor, Grouping HAD&S and ULB\_ATM

**Ms Megan Richards**, Senior Advisor, Energy and Technology, Rud Pedersen (formerly with German Marshall Fund)

Ms Abigail Robinson, Director, Continua

Mr PaulRushton, Officer, Climate Change and Security, Emerging Security Challenges Division, NATO

Dr Jamie Shea, Secretary General, GMACCC, Peace, Security and Defence, Friends of Europe

Mr Ioannis Sokos, Policy Assistant, EUROMIL

Dr Ricardo Tavares da Costa, Senior Researcher, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

Dr Céline Tschirhart, Scientific Policy Officer, EC Scientific Advice Mechanism

**Dr Ilze Trapenciere**, Advisor to the President, Latvian Academy of Sciences, International Department, Latvian Academy of Sciences

Mr Raymond Van Ermen, Director, The EPE

Mr Toby Wardman, SAPEA Head of Communications, Scientific Advice Mechanism

Ms Andrea Windegger, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Dr Rachael Winfree, Professor, Rutgers University / Member, Response Diversity Network