







The Climate-Security Nexus: Implications for the Military

- Installations – Operations – Personnel-

European Economic and Social Committee 24 October 2019

PARTICIPANTS

Manuel Abadía Cutillas

Action Officer in Concepts Branch European Union Military Staff (EUMS)

Alberto Alletto Center for Defense Innovation Italian Defense General Staff

István Bácskai

Board Member, EUROMIL / Honvédszakszervezet - Defence Forces Trade Union (HOSZ)

Zdenko Baranec

Member, EUROMIL Delegation Zväz vojakov Slovenskej Republiky -Association of the Soldiers of the Slovak Republic (ZVSR)

Finn Bengtsen

Executive Director Centralforeningen For Stampersonel (CS) -Danish Central Association of Permanent Defence Personnel

Henrik Bliddal

Director, Science and Technology Committee NATO Parliamentary Assembly

Karl-Heinz Bög EUROMIL Presidium Deutscher BundeswehrVerband (DBwV)

Gaia Bottoni Administration Trainee European Economic and Social Committee

Arnaud Bouyssou

Climate & Security Focal Point European External Action Service (EEAS) / European Union Military Staff (EUMS)



Richard Brewin

International Capability Development & Sustainability Fellow Ministry of Defence United Kingdom

Esra Buttanri

Senior Adviser on Sustainable Development Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Carmen Buttigieg

Director Ministry for Home Affairs and National Security (MHAS), Malta

Anna Cameron

Administrator, Directorate C, NAT/SDO, Section for Agriculture, Rural Development and the Environment Sustainable Development Observatory European Economic and Social Committee

Céline Charveriat

Executive Director Institute for European Envionmental Policy (IEEP)

Ioannis Chatzialexandris PO Energy - Environment European Defence Agency

April Cho Intern Mission of Canada to the EU

Marzena Chodor Chief Specialist Climate Policy Institute for the Environment Protection State Research Institute, Poland



Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft Confédération suisse Confederazione Svizzera Confederaziun svizra

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

Michel De Mulder President IPA Brabant-Brussels / Member of the Board IPA Belgium Contact EU International Police Association (IPA), Belgium

Robert Dresen Policy Planning Adviser NATO

Laurence Drèze Assistant Environment and Development Resource Centre (EDRC)

Dirk Dubois Director European Security and Defence College (ESDC)

Raphaela Engel Policy Officer European External Action Service (EEAS)

Lars Fresker President OFFICERSFÖRBUNDET / Swedish Association of Military Officers (SAMO)

Bela Galgoczi Senior Researcher European Trade Union Institute (ETUI)

Martin Gebauer Member, EUROMIL Delegation Deutscher BundeswehrVerband (DBwV) -German Armed Forces Association

Vitor Geitoeira General Assembly Secretary ANS - Associação Nacional de Sargentos

Jörg Greiffendorf Vice President, EUROMIL / Treasurer, Deutscher BundeswehrVerband (DBwV) - German Armed Forces Association

Vivien Gross CIMIC Advisor NATO

Rebekka Haffner Project Officer European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL) Ahmad Halima

Sustainability and Radicalization Intern Clingendael - the Netherlands Institute of International Relations

Yuko Hanada Research Assistant Quaker Council for European Affairs (QCEA)

Jesper Hansen

Chairman Centralforeningen For Stampersonel (CS) -Danish Central Association of Permanent Defence Personnel

Rene Heise Section Head GEO-Support Geoinformation Centre German Air Force

Caroline Henrion Policy Manager European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL)

Roger Housen Strategic Advisor ACMP-CGPM: The Military Union, Belgium

Emmanuel Jacob President European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL)

Yvan Keckeis Senior Policy Officer Swiss Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Panagiotis Kikiras HoU / Technology and Innovation European Defence Agency (EDA)

Ronald A. Kingham Executive Director Environment & Development Resource Centre (EDRC)

Simone Lauffer Expert Deutscher BundeswehrVerband (DBwV) -German Armed Forces Association

Terhi Lehtinen

Head of Division Horizontal Coordination European External Action Service (EEAS) / European Union Military Staff (EUMS)

Marcel Leroy

Senior Advisor Institute for Environmental Security (IES)

Antonio Lima Coelho

Board Member European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL)

Matt Luna

Organizer Hague Roundtable on Climate & Security Institute for Environmental Security (IES)

Ville Majamaa

DG HOME European Commission

Ashey McIlvain Moran

Director State Fragility Initiative Robert Strauss Center for International Security and Law University of Texas at Austin

Neil Morisetti

Vice Dean (Public Policy) Engineering Sciences University College London (UCL)

Jeannette E. Mullaart

Research Coordinator Environment & Development Resource Centre (EDRC)

ANM Muniruzzaman

President, Bangladesh Institute of Peace and Security Studies (BIPSS) / Chair, Global Military Advisory Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

Denis Murphy

Member Global Military Advisory Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

Johan Erik Öhlén Board Member European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL)

Alberto Pallecchi

Natural Resources & Security Coordinator World Resources Institute (WRI)

Raluca Radescu

Policy Officer European Confereration of Independent Trade Unions (CESI)

Mia Rahunen

Senior Advisor Crisis Management Centre Finland (CMC Finland)

Amber Reboul Assistant

Environment and Development Resource Centre

Nicolas Regaud Special Representative to the Indo-Pacific French Ministry of Defence

Rol Reiland Deputy Director Directorate of Defence Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Luxembourg

Relja Richert Desk Officer PSC Team German Permanent Representation to the EU

Jürgen Scheffran

Professor / Head and Principal Investigator, Research Group Climate Change and Security (CLISEC), Climate, Climatic Change and Society (CLICCS), University of Hamburg

Lars Schümann

Branch Chief Concepts & Strategy European Union Military Staff (EUMS)

Gosia Sendrowska

Policy officer European External Action Service (EEAS)

Jamie Shea

Professor of Strategy & Security, Exeter University / Secretary General, Global Military Advisory Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

Martin Siecker Member European Economic and Social Committee

Zoltán Szendrei Vice president Honvédszakszervezet - Defence Forces Trade Union (HOSZ)

Laura Thiébaut Intern European Organisation of Military Associations and Trade Unions (EUROMIL)

Meghan Tibelius Second Secretary Mission of Canada to the EU

Brooks Tigner EU/NATO Affairs Jane's Defence Weekly

Bronislava Tomášová Foreign Policy Analyst/Policy Planning Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Zola van der Maas Intern Security & Defence Unit Clingendael - the Netherlands Institute of International Relations

Thomas van Manen Kooij

Assistant Environment & Development Resource Centre (EDRC)

Wouter Veening President

Institute for Environmental Security (IES)

Alexander Verbeek

Policy Director Environment & Development Resource Centre (EDRC)

Pieter Wit

Member Global Military Advisory Council on Climate Change (GMACCC)

Svenja Wolter

Training Officer Centre for International Peace Operations (ZIF), Germany

George Zgardanas

International Relations Director - Board Member Panhellenic Federation of Armed Forces Unions (P.FE.AR.F.U.), Greece

Participant Statistics			Number of Participants by Types of Organisations		
Total Number of Participants	74		Intergovernmental Organisations	4	5%
Number of Organisations	46		EU Institutions	12	16%
Number of Nationalities	28		Governments / Embassies	14	19%
			Academic / Educational / Research Bodies	4	5%
Gender			Civil Society Organisations / NGOs / Think Tanks	18	24%
Number of Men	51	69%	Trade Unions	21	28%
Number of Women	23	31%	Press / Media	1	1%