Minutes of the 21st AGM for MCC NI Groups 24 & 42, held on 21st August 2021

in Portrush Primary School.

Attendance A total of 120 Members attended the meeting on presentation of a valid membership card. Committee in attendance Joe Little (Chairman), David Gilmore (Vice Chair/Secretary), Gary Little (Treasurer), Enda Carolan (Rally Officer), Selma McMullan BEM (Insignia Officer), Norman Willis (Safety Officer), Joe McClune and Martin Murphy. The Chairman, Joe Little opened the meeting at 11.00 am by welcoming all the Members.

Members observed a minute silence in memory of "Absent Friends" who had passed away and those who had been bereaved since our last AGM.

Formal Notice: was read by David Gilmore "I hereby announce that this meeting is the 21st Annual General Meeting of the Northern Ireland Group of The Motorcaravanners" Club Ltd and that the meeting is now convened."

**Apologies** George & Diane Craig, David & Evelyn Pirie, Anthony & Geraldine Brown, David & Una Morrison, Tom & Agnes Adair, Bailey & Betty Stewart, Roley & Joe McIntyre.

## **Introductions, Purpose and Process**

The Chairman introduced our Honorary President Dessie Ross and the current committee members. He then explained that the purpose of the meeting was to conduct the formal business of the Group and elect the committee for the 2021/2022 year. He said that the meeting was scheduled to last around 1 hour and advised the members that all decisions taken at this meeting will be binding on the 2021/2022 Committee to be elected later. The Chairman stated that the meeting was being held in compliance with "The Motor caravanners" Club Ltd" Constitution for Groups and our Group Supplementary document which was approved at the AGM on the 12th October 2019.

**Minutes** The minutes of the AGM held in Magherafelt on 12 th October 2019 have been available on the website and displayed at this venue. There were no matters arising. Acceptance of these minutes was proposed by Dessie Ross and seconded by Victor McFadden and passed by members. The minutes of the EGM held in Magherafelt on 14 th February 2020 have been available on the website and displayed at this venue. There were no matters arising. Acceptance of these minutes was proposed by Maurice Gaston and seconded by Sue Corry and passed by members

## **Chairman's Report**

The Chairman began by saying that due to the Covid pandemic we had not been able to hold any events from our rally on Saint Patrick's weekend 2020 until a meet on 30 April 2021. We have been holding temporary campsites since then but the attendance level has been disappointing. This suggests many members do not attend when there are no social activities especially the Saturday night dance. We lost a lot of members when the group was inactive but thankfully numbers are picking up again. He said we had stopped awarding points for rally attendance from 31 July 2020 and he had published a paper on the website explaining the reasoning behind this decision. He concluded by thanking Dessie Ross the outgoing Honorary president, every member of committee who served with him during his term of office, the members of our Group for their attendance at rallies and finally his wife Roberta for her support.

**Treasurer's Report.** The treasurer's report was delivered by Gary Little. A copy of the accounts that had been prepared by Peter Gribben of Hill Vellacott, Chartered Accountants was included in the welcome pack. The Treasurer advised members that we had a deficit of £2,369 this year which was

an increase of £1,049 on the previous year. Contributing factors were lower rally attendances, loss of advertising revenue (£2,090), general admin expenses were still incurred and the ending of the Attendance Voucher Scheme. With £8,744 in the bank we are still solvent however as the Group Supplementary Document requires us to maintain a protected fund of £5,000 operating with an annual deficit is unsustainable. If we have the same deficit by this time next year we will be at our financial limits. The fact is the windfall from the 2014 National Rally events allowed us to keep rally fees low over the last seven years. However this is an issue the incoming committee will need to address. No questions were raised regarding the Treasurer"s report. Acceptance of the report was proposed by Florence McClune, seconded by John Kerr and agreed by all present.

Election of Committee for 2021/2022 The Chairman asked the Honorary President Dessie Ross to take over the Chair in order that the election of the new Committee for the year 2021/2022 could take place as per the guidance laid down in the Constitution. At this point all the current members of the committee vacated their posts. The Honorary President took the Chair and began by thanking the outgoing Committee for their hard work over the previous year and said that the success of the Group was down to the dedication of the committee. He explained that those standing for election had been properly proposed, seconded and signed their willingness to accept a term in post in accordance with the Constitution. Only one nomination had been received for each post so voting would be by a show of hands. The following Committee was duly elected: - Chairman – Joe McClune; Vice Chair/Secretary – Irene Hewitt; Treasurer – Gary Little; Rally Officer – Norman Willis; Committee – Selma McMullan BEM, Martin Murphy, Evelyn Pirie, Robert Hewitt and William Cameron.

**Election of Honorary President for 2021/2024** The Honorary President said only one nomination had been received – for Selma McMullan – and it had been properly proposed, seconded and signed so voting would be by a show of hands. Selma was duly elected as Honorary President.

The Chairman thanked Dessie for carrying out the elections. He then congratulated all the officers and committee elected for 2021/2022 year and thanked them for coming forward to serve in this important role. He thanked the outgoing Honorary President Dessie Ross for his good work over the last four years and congratulated Selma McMullan on her election to the post.

Independent Accounts Examiner. The Chairman advised the members that Peter Gribben of Hill Vellacott, Chartered Accountants, had again prepared the accounts which he has done for the last 10 years and recommended that he be appointed for the 2021/2022 year. This was proposed by Jim Douglas, seconded by Robert Watson and approved by all the members. Close The Chairman closed the meeting at 11.32 am, by thanking everyone for attending and invited them to remain for the Members Meeting which would follow immediately.

**David Gilmore Secretary** 

Groups 24 & 42

23 August 2021