



Executive Committee

Wednesday, June 15, 2022 from 1:00 PM to 1:33 PM Videoconference via Zoom: <u>https://zoom.us/j/84694719298</u> Teleconference: (929) 205 6099 / Meeting ID: 846 9471 9298#

	Present	Excused Absences	Unexcused Absences
1.	Dr. Robert Johnson (Chair)	10. Aliya Roman (Non-Voting)	
2.	Dr. Ann Bagchi		
3.	Joann McEniry (Co-Chair)		
4.	Patricia Moore (Treasurer)		
5.	Warren Poole		
6.	Sharon Postel (Non-Voting)		
7.	Ketlen Alsbrook		
8.	Cezar Dumago (Secretary)		
9.	Vieshia Morales		

Guest: None

PC Support Staff: Christine Sadler and Carla-Ann Alexander

1. Welcome & Moment of Silence

Dr. Johnson welcomed all in attendance and called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM. A moment of silence was observed for all those who have passed, those affected by, and those living with HIV/AIDS.

2. Roll Call

Dumago conducted the roll call and quorum was established.

3. Approval of the Meeting Summary from May 18, 2022

Moore pointed out a correction for the meeting summary. The May 18th meeting summary was then motioned to be approved.

4. Report from the Recipient

- Ketlen Alsbrook provided the report.
 - The Annual Progress Report for fiscal year 2021 was submitted on May 29, 2022.
 - The final Expenditure Report was submitted on June 1, 2022.
 - The unobligated balance for fiscal year 2021 is \$130,461 in Part A and \$29,933 in MAI for giving a total of \$160,394. These funds will likely be rolled into FY 2023 funding awards.
 - For fiscal year 2022's final award, due to COVID, HRSA waived the unobligated balanced penalty in 2020 for funds that were returned. In addition, there was about a 4% increase in federal appropriations. As a result, there was an additional \$30 million in funding available for formula awards to be distributed to the recipients. The final award for fiscal year 2022 is \$12,526,012, which is an increase compared to fiscal year 2021.

- The recipient office is in the process of making final allocations.
- They received final approval on the Core Service Waiver for fiscal year 2022. This gives the ability to put more dollars into support services.
- They are scheduling site visits for fiscal year 2022. This will begin in August of 2022 and will conclude in February of 2023.
- As a result of the increased funding for 2022, we must submit a revised HIV Care Continuum Table and Service Plan by July 26, 2022, as part of our program submissions. We also need to submit the letter of concurrence from the Planning Council on our final allocations, as well as an updated reflectiveness in this roster of our Planning Council membership.
- 5. Standing Committee Updates—No updates were given due to time.
 - Continuum of Care (COC): Vieshia Morales There was no update.
 - Comprehensive Planning Committee (CPC): Joann McEniry There was no update.
 - Research and Evaluation Committee (REC): Ann Bagchi, Ph.D. There was no update.
 - Consumer Involvement Activities (CIA): Warren Poole There was no update.
- 6. Treasurer's Report
 - There was no report given due to time.

7. Old/New Business

- Corrective Action Plan Discussion
- Alsbrook lead the discussion with points she wanted to clarify:
 - All members of the Planning Council must be on a committee, but, all committee members, except the chair of each committee, does not have to be on the Planning Council.
 - All Council members are appointed by the mayor.
 - Mayor/CEO appoints the Chair of the Planning Council.
 - Dr. Johnson mentioned that the mayor appointing the Chair of the Council was criticized in the past.
 - Moore responded by stating that the chair of the Council shall be appointed or reappointed by the CEO.
 - The Chair selects a co-chair, who is also appointed by the mayor.
 - The suggestion sent out is that the Chair of the Council appoints the vice Chair of the Council, and the chairs of committees (the Executive Committee) would be elected by the Council.
 - A Nominations Committee will be formed, and they will select the Officers (Treasurer, Secretary, and Chairs) of the Committees.

- Committee chairs will select their co-chairs.
 - Alsbrook asked, "Who selects the Nominations Committee?" and, "Will this Nomination Committee have its own term of service to ensure that there's rotation within that group?"
 - Moore answered by explaining when the Council was reorganized years ago, the nomination committee fell under the Executive Committee when necessary. Therefore, there might have to be a process for selecting a permanent nomination committee.
 - Dr. Johnson added that the Executive Committee is made up of individuals who have great contact with all the Council members and have the best sense of who qualifies for certain offices. Therefore, he believes that the Executive Committee should be the Nomination Committee.
- Terms of service will be two years and no more than three consecutive terms. This means a maximum of six years. After three terms of service, the member must rotate out for a minimum of 1 year before they are able to serve again. If a replacement is not found by the time the term of service expires, the member may remain as a holdover until a new member is appointed (Legislative seats only).
 - In this instance, PC must demonstrate/document efforts to recruit so it does not appear as if PC are allowing Members to remain and hold over status without making any effort to recruit new members.
 - McEniry clarified by stating that all members can serve three two-year terms, other than the Chair of the Planning Council, giving a maximum of six years. It would be the duty of the Chair to appropriately train a candidate in that timeframe, however, that is not an easy task. Experience and responsibility are factors.
- Alsbrook then asked a few more questions, "What is the course of action for members who have already served more than 6 years consecutively? When does the new term start? What are the current deficiencies? What steps have been taken to address them?"
 All new changes will take effect when the Bylaws are approved by the council.
- Currently, the Bylaws state that the mayor appoints or reappoints the chair of the Planning Council. Dr. Johnson stated, "the Chair must qualify to be a member of the Council in addition to being appointed by the mayor" should be added to the Bylaws.
 - Moore suggested adding a criteria for this position.
 - McEniry added that the appointed chair should have experience in the Council versus someone who has never done this type of work because of transitions that is going to be occurring.
 - Postel added that the committee can include what they desire in terms of qualifications or restrictions, but the CEO has legal authority to appoint whoever he wants.
- Moore is going to create a draft of actual changes to the Bylaws and will email the draft to the committee once completed.

This was an extended group discussion that will be continued in a special meeting on July 6, 2022, at 2pm via Zoom.

8. Administrative Issues

There were no issues.

9. Announcements

James Horne, CEO of United Way of Greater Union County, last day will be June 30, 2022.

10. Next Meeting

The next Executive Committee Meeting will be held on Wednesday, July 20, 2022, at 1:00PM via Zoom.

11. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at Dr. Johnson's decree at 1:33 PM.